2002 – Beginner Tutorial for MMF 1.5

Getting the most of... Absolute Beginner Tutorial für Multimedia Fusion

Von Reiner Prokein

Ihr habt euch also entschieden, ein Game mit Multimedia Fusion zu basteln ? Und ihr seid absolute Anfänger was das Spielemachen angeht ?

In den folgenden Zeilen erkläre ich euch zumindest mal die Anfänge in MMF. Aller Anfang ist ja bekanntlich schwer …

Ach ja, ein wenig Englisch solltet ihr schon beherrschen. MMF ist in Englisch …

Und euer MMF kann ein wenig anders aussehen. Die Toolbars lassen sich individuell einstellen. Was ich bei meinem teilweise getan habe …

Was man zum Spielemachen braucht:

  • eine Spielidee
  • Grafiken
  • Sounds
  • Musik
  • eine Programmierumgebung

    Erschreckt nicht gleich vor dem Wort Programmierumgebung. Irgendwie muss man ja dem Game sagen, was es machen soll :). Und MMF ist so eine Umgebung. Allerdings schreibt ihr euren Code hier nicht selbst wie bei einer Programmiersprache, sondern klickt ihn euch zusammen.

    Grundsätzlich arbeitet MMF mit Objekten. Und jedes Objekt bringt seine Codeschnipsel mit.

    Am besten fangen wir mal mit der Oberfläche von MMF an …

    Wenn ihr das getan habt, sieht die Sache so aus:

    Auf der linken Seite ist nun ein Fenster erschienen, in dem eure Frames auftauchen. Im Moment haben wir da einen Frame. Wenn ihr dieses Fenster schliesst, schliesst ihr euer Projekt. Es ist das Projektfenster. Also aufpassen …

    Das rechts erschienene Fenster ist der Storyboard Editor. Auch hier tauchen eure Frames auf. Dazu später mehr.

    Wenn ihr im Projektfenster den Untitled Frame anklickt, werden ein paar Knöpfe aktiviert … ( Ihr könnt auch im Storyboardeditor den Frame markieren. Wenn ihr allerdings auf das graue Feld mit der „1“ klickt, gelangt ihr direkt zum Frameeditor des Untitled Frames )

    Die Buttons führen uns zu den verschiedenen Editoren.

    Von Links nach Rechts sind das:

    • der Storyboardeditor
      der Frameeditor
      der Eventeditor
      der Eventlisteditor
      der Timelineeditor

    Hier kommen wir so langsam an die wesentlichen Teile von Multimedia Fusion:)

    Der Storyboardeditor ist ja schon offen. Hier werden die Frames ( eure Spielfelder ) verwaltet. Hier kann man die Framegrösse einstellen. Standardmässig ist das 640 x 480 Pixel. Hier werden auch Fadingeffekte zwischen den Frames eingestellt. Und ihr könnt eurem Frame einen Namen verpassen. Einfach auf das entsprechende Feld klicken und die Werte ändern. Wenn ihr auf das Feld unter dem Frame klickt (da steht „more … „), erzeugt ihr einen neuen Frame.

    Klickt nun den Storyboardeditor weg, und markiert wieder Untitled Frame im Projektfenster ( damit die Buttons wieder aktiv sind ). Wir machen mit dem Frameeditor weiter: Wenn ihr auf den Button für den Frameeditor klickt, erscheint der Frameeditor:

    Maximiert am besten das Fenster. Mit der F2-Taste kann man reinzoomen. Und mit der F3-Taste zoomt man raus. Nützlich für grosse Frames. Was genau kann man im Frameeditor anstellen ? Tja, hier erzeugt ihr euer Spielfeld …

    Was nimmt man dafür ? Man nimmt Objekte. Für den Hintergrund nimmt man entweder Quick Backdrop-Objekte ( gut für grosse gekachelte Flächen ), oder Backdrop-Objekte. Nach erscheinen des Frameeditors sind wieder ein paar Buttons aktiv geworden. Damit könnt ihr die jeweiligen Objekte in den Frame packen. Button anklicken, und dann in den Frame klicken. Von links nach rechts sind das folgende Objekte:

    Quick Backdrop, Backdrop, Active, String, Counter, Edit Box, Button.

    Wenn ihr auch die anderen Objekte sehen wollt, die in MMF zur Verfügung stehen, rechtsklickt ihr einfach irgendwo auf eine freie Fläche im Frameeditor, und wählt Insert Object aus. Dann kommt euch dieser Dialog entgegen …

    Tja, ne ganze Menge Sachen. Hier werden alle Objekte verwaltet, die ihr in MMF verwenden könnt. Ihr könnt die Liste erweitern, indem ihr das entsprechende. cox file in die entsprechenden Ordner von MMF packt. Aber das nur am Rande. Die meisten Extensions kommen inzwischen mit einem Installer …

    Wählt mal den Backdrop-Button aus ( zweiter von links ):

    Dann klickt ihr irgendwo mit Linksklick in den Frameeditor. Huch, wo sind wir denn nun ? Tja, irgendwo muss ja das Bild importiert werden. Wir befinden uns im Pictureeditor. Und wie kriege ich nun da ein Bild rein ? Über den Dialog oben links zum Beispiel:

    File/Import/Bitmap

    Hier könnt ihr nun ein Bitmapbild (oder jpeg, gif … ) importieren. Wenn ihr in den Preferences im Picture/Animationeditor die Option Show Dialog on Import Bitmap und Show Dialog on Import Animation aktiviert habt, könnt ihr im Importdialog eine transparente Farbe definieren. Ich importiere hier mal einen Planeten.

    Nun noch auf OK klicken, und wir sind wieder im Pictureeditor.

    Vielleicht wollt ihr ja noch einige Pixel nachbearbeiten. Dafür gibt es ein paar gute Werkzeuge im Pictureeditor (die linke Leiste). Der Picture Editor ist ein kleines Malprogramm. Spielt mal darin herum. Um zum Frameeditor zurückzukehren, schliesst ihr einfach den Pictureeditor. Ich habe meinen so eingestellt, dass er automatisch beim Schliessen speichert (Preferences).

    Wollt ihr nachträglich den Backdrop ändern, einfach doppelt links draufklicken, und ihr landet wieder im Pictureeditor. Oder ihr klickt rechts drauf, und wählt im Popupmenü Edit.

    Das wichtigste Objekt allerdings ist das Active Object. Es kann gesteuert werden. Also eine gute Möglichkeit, einen Spielersprite zu machen. Klickt, wenn ihr wieder im Frameeditor seid, auf das Active Objekt, und klickt dann wie oben irgendwo links in den Frameeditor.

    Der Animationseditor. Dieser Dialog sieht ein wenig anders aus. Das Active bietet allerdings auch eine Menge mehr Möglichkeiten. Immerhin hat es bis zu 32 Richtungen, und kann eine unbegrenzte Anzahl von Animationen enthalten: stehen, laufen, rennen, etc ….. Das Prinzip ist allerdings das gleiche wie im vorherigen Vorgang. Doppelklickt auf die Raute undihr landet wieder im Pictureeditor. Hier kann wieder ein einzelnes Bild importiert und bearbeitet werden.

    Wenn ihr eine Animation importieren wollt, dürft ihr die Raute nur markieren. Dann geht ihr auf File/Import/Animation, w ählt eure Datei aus(ich nehm. avi)und die einzelnen Bilder der Datei werden nach dem Rautenbild importiert. Und das Rautenbild kann gelöscht werden.

    Wollt ihr eine neue Richtung für euren Sprite ? Klickt rechts auf die Stopped Schrift, und wählt Insert new Direction. Da könnt ihr eure neue Richtung auswählen. Wenn ihr eine neue Animation braucht, klickt ihr rechts unter die schon vorhandene in den leeren Raum. Und wählt dann Insert new Animation. Bastelt euren Sprite zurecht.

    Ich selber importiere mal an der Stelle ein Raumschiff mit 16 Richtungen. Ich habe alle 16 Richtungen als Einzelbilder gerendert. Ihr könnt aber auch ein einzelnes Bild nehmen, und von diesem ausgehend mit Create rotated Direction die verschiedenen Richtungen erzeugen. Dann müsst ihr aber den Hotspot bei den einzelnen Bildern manuell nachstellen ( im Pictureeditor befindet sich auf der linken Leiste ein Button für view Hotspot. ). Der Hotspot sollte sich bei allen Bildern an der gleichen Stelle befinden. Sonst kann es später bei Kollisionen zu Problemen kommen.

    Wenn ihr euren Sprite fertig habt, schliesst ihr den Animationseditor. Und habt nun folgendes:

    Wie ihr seht, sind alle Objekte in der linken Spalte des Frameeditors aufgeführt. Ich habe auch schon mein Active umbenannt in Schiff.

    Ein Raumschiff auf weissem Himmel sieht allerdings nicht so gut aus. Klickt mal im Projektfenster auf das kleine Pluszeichen neben Untitled Frame. Direkt drunter erscheint nun ein Properties ( Nicht zu verwechseln mit den Properties direkt darüber, Die sind für die Enstellungen, die für die ganze App gelten … ). Dieses Properties bezieht sich auf den Frame. Es sind die Frame Properties. Da wollen wir hin. Mit Doppelklick darauf öffnet ihr die Properties of Untitled Frame. Hier doppelklickt ihr nun mal auf Frame, um die Frameoptions aufzumachen.

    In den Frame Options kann man die Hintergrundfarbe des Frames ändern: Color mit dem Change Button. Ich nehm mal Schwarz. Ihr könnt auch einen Quick Backdrop in Framegrösse als Hintergrund nehmen, falls ihr einen schönen Sternenhintergrund habt.

    Nun kommen noch einige kleine Korrekturen an den Objekten dran. Wir machen den Planeten nun so, dass das Raumschiff später daran abprallt. Dazu klickt ihr rechts auf den Backdrop. Entweder im Frame oder in der linken Spalte. Im Menü wählt ihr Properties/Obstacle. Und dann stellt ihr den Obstacle typ auf Obstacle.

    Beim Active ( unser Raumschiff ) auch in die Properties ( rechtsklick und im Menü … ), und da auf New Movement.

    Nehmt mal das Race Car movement für unser Raumschiff. Somit haben wir mal den Frame vorbereitet …

    An dem Punkt beende ich mal die Exkursion im Frameeditor. Wir haben nun einen Backdrop und ein Active Objekt. Die halbe Miete.

    Kommen wir zum Eventeditor. Hier wird dem Spiel leben eingehaucht. Oben habe ich ja beschrieben, wie man zu den verschiedenen Editoren kommt. Klickt auf den Eventeditor Button.

    Hier wird der Code eingegeben. Es funktioniert nach dem Prinzip Wenn:Dann. Also WENN unser Raumschiff mit dem Planeten kollidiert, DANN soll es gefälligst daran abprallen.

    Die WENN Konditionen kommen ins graue Feld (da wo im Moment noch New conditon steht). Und die DANN Aktionen kommen in das Kästchen unter dem entsprechenden Objekt. Ihr seht, dass nicht nur unser Raumschiff als Objekt aufgeführt ist. Dazu später mehr.

    Wir klicken nun rechts auf das New conditon Feld. Im aufpoppenden Menü klicken wir rechts auf unser Raumschiff, und wählen Collisions/Backdrop

    Wenn ihr auf Backdrop klickt, erhaltet ihr folgendes:

    Wir haben also gerade die WENN Kondition definiert. WENN Schiff collides with the background …. Damit das auch wirklich nachher geht, haben wir ja unseren Backdrop schon mal präpariert, indem wir ihn als Obstacle definiert haben. Nur dann prallt das Schiff daran ab. Kommen wir zur DANN Aktion: Im Kästchen unter dem Schiff klicken wir nun auch wieder rechts, und wählen im Menü Movement/Bounce

    Somit haben wir diese Zeile:

    Ihr habt gerade erfolgreich die erste Codezeile eures Spiels programmiert:)

    Anmerkung: Es können auch mehrere Conditions oder Actions in einer Zeile stehen. Dies ist manchmal sogar sehr wichtig, um eine Condition auf einen bestimmten Zustand einzugrenzen. Zum Beispiel wenn ihr eine Kollision nur zulassen wollt, wenn ein Counter einen bestimmten Wert hat. Oder ihr wollt mit einer Condition mehrere Aktionen ausführen lassen. Es ist unnötig dafür eine neue Zeile zu schreiben …

    Klickt mal nun auf Run Frame. Der Button ist oben zu finden:

    Der linke Button lässt die gesamte Applikation abspielen, der Rechte nur den ausgewählten Frame.

    Da wir noch keinen Befehl zum Beenden der App haben, müsst ihr den Frame entweder mit einem Klick ins graue Kreuz oben Rechts beenden, oder ihr nehmt ALT+F4

    Nun machen wir noch ein, zwei zeilen Code dazu. Unser Raumschiff verschwindet ja am Rand …

    Wie wäre es, wenn das Raumschiff auf der anderen Seite des Frames wieder auftaucht, wenn es zu nahe an den Rand kommt ? Also WENN Schiff zu nahe am Rand, DANN setze die Position auf die andere Seite des Frames. Dazu müssen wir die Position des Schiffes testen. Wie oben klicken wir wieder rechts auf New condition, wählen unser Schiff, und klicken rechts. Im Menü wählen wir nun Position/test position of Schiff:

    Im folgenden Dialog wählen wir alle 4 innenstehenden Pfeile aus. Schliesslich soll unser Schiff an allen 4 Seiten die Position wechslen.

    Nun wieder in das Kästchen unter das Schiff. Rechtsklick, und im Menü auf Movement/Wrap Around Play Area.

    Somit taucht unser Schiff auf der anderen Seite des Frames wieder auf, wenn es am Rand verschwindet.

    Jetzt mal eine Zeile, um mit der ESC Taste das Spiel zu beenden.

    Klickt auf new event. Nun wählen wir das Keyboard Objekt:

    Klickt auf upon pressing a key, dann drückt die ESC Taste. Als nächstes müssen wir uns ins Kästchen unter Storyboard Controls begeben. Hier finden wir auch den Befehl für das Beenden der Applikation:

    Wenn ihr nun euer Game abspielt, kann durch Drücken der ESC Taste das Game beendet werden.

    Ihr schaut euch am Besten mal in aller Ruhe an, welche Befehle die einzelnen Objekte sonst noch bieten. Jedes Objekt hat seinen eigenen Befehlssatz …

    Immerhin habt ihr ja schon drei Codezeilen für euer Game zusammen.

    Zurück zu den Editoren. Es bleiben noch der Eventslisteditor und der Timelineeditor. Klickt mal auf den Eventslisteditor Button:

    Eigentlich fast der gleiche Editor wie der Events Editor. Nur dass hier der Code übersichtlicher dargestellt wird. Praktisch, wenn ihr viele Objekte und Eventzeilen habt. Und ihr könnt hier kontrollieren, ob die Eventreihenfolge stimmt. Ihr könnt hier zwar die vorhandenen Codelinien bearbeiten, aber neue Zeilen könnt ihr nur im Events Editor einfügen.

    Anmerkung: man kann auch zum Event List Editor gelangen, indem man im Event Editor auf eine Action doppelklickt. Sehr nützlich. Denn manchmal ist die Reihenfolge der Conditions und Actions äusserst wichtig.

    Bleibt noch der Timeline Editor. Er ist für zeitgesteuerte Aktionen gedacht. Zu meiner Schande muss ich aber gestehen, dass ich noch keine einzige Zeile hier bearbeitet habe …

    die Möglichkeiten, die MMF bietet, sind aber nicht auf Spiele beschränkt. Man kann eigentlich alles damit anstellen, was man auch mit herkömmlichem Programmieren hinkriegt. Man brauch nur das entsprechende Objekt dafür. Am Besten lest ihr euch auch noch die Getting the most of … Serie durch.

    Ich konnte hier ja nur die Anfänge ankratzen …

    © 2002 by Reiner Prokein

    Kommentare sind geschlossen.

2002 – Beginner Tutorial for MMF 1.5

Getting the most of... Absolute Beginner Tutorial for Multimedia Fusion

by Reiner Prokein

So you have decided to create a game with Multimedia Fusion? And you are an absolute Beginner in creating games?

The following text explains the first steps with MMF. All beginning is hard …

What you need :

  • a Gameidea
  • Graphics
  • Sounds / Samples
  • Music
  • a Programming Enviroment

Don`t be afraid of the word Programming Enviroment. There must be a way to tell the Game what it should do : ). And MMF is such an Enviroment. But you don´t write the code line by line like in an Programming Language, you simply click it together.

Generally told : MMF works with Objects. And every Object is having its own Codepieces.

Note : The Toolbars in MMF are customizable. Your Interface could look different form the screnshots here. I made some small changes in the toolbars in my MMF. You can read a howto in the Getting the Most of – tutorials …

Another thing : there is more than one way for some steps to do the things i am describing here.

Here we go :

Let us start with the interface …

Do so, and it looks like this :

Now, here we have a new application, including your Frames. At the momet there is only one Frame. If you close the left window, you will also close your Project. It is the Project window, which is your application. So be careful …

The window that appeared at the right is the Storyboard Editor. This Editor handles your Frames. Later more …

By klicking at the ” Untitled frame ” in the Project window, some Buttons become highlighted … ( You can also klick at the Frame in the Storyboard Editor. But when you klick the field with the “1”, you will move to the Frame Editor of the Untitled Frame )

These Buttons lead to the different Editors of MMF.

They are from left to right :

  • – the Storyboard Editor
    – the Frame Editor
    – the Event Editor
    – the Eventlist Editor
    – the Timeline Editor

That`s where we getting close to the important pieces of Multimedia Fusion : )

The Storyboard Editor is still opened. It´s here where you can handle your Frames. And here you can change the Framesize. The standard Framesize is 640×480 Pixel. You also handle the fadingeffects between the Frames here. And you can change the name of the Frame. Simply klick at a field, and do the changes. To create a new Frame, simply click at the “More” field.

We have explored the Storyboard Editor. So click it away, and mark the “Untitled frame ” in the Project Window ( to make the buttons active again ). We will go on with the Frame Editor. If you are klicking at the Button for the Frame Editor, the Frame Editor appears :

You should maximize the Frame Editor window. You can zoom in by pressing the F2-Button. And you can zoom out by pressing the F3-Button. Good for big Frames. What exactly can you do in the Frame Editor ? Well, it´s here where you create your Playfield …

And how ? You have to use Objects. For Background you can use Quick Backdrop Objects ( good for big tiled backgrounds ) or Backdrop Objects. After the Frame Editor appeared, some more buttons became highlighted. They are for the Objects. You can place the corresponding Objects in the Frame with this Buttons. Click them, and then click somewhere into the Frame. The Objects are from left to right :

Quick Backdrop, Backdrop, Active, String, Counter, Edit box, and Button.

If you wanna have a look at the other available Object types of MMF, rightclick somewhere in the Frame Editor, and in the Popup Menu choose insert Object :

Lots of stuff. Here you can have a look at all Objects that are inside MMF. You can add more Objects by adding a *. cox file into the right folders of MMF. But most of the new Extensions are with Installers anyway. Extensions are another chapter 😉

Press cancel. We don´t want to import an Object at the moment.

Now, click at the Backdrop button ( second from left )

And then leftclick somewhere in the Frame Editor. Wow, what´s this ? Here we are in the Picture Editor. Well, there must be a thing where you can import your Pictures. And how can i import a Picture here ? Choose the Menu up left :

File/Import/Bitmap

Now you can choose your Picture ( Bmp, Jpeg, Gif … ) to import it into your Backdrop Object.

If you have enabled the Show Dialog on Import Bitmap option and the Show Dialog on Import Animation option in the Preferences/Picture/Animation Editor, you can choose a transparent colour of your Image. If you activate the transparent colour checkbox, the grey colour becomes transparent in the Frame Editor. I will go on importing a simple Planet …

Simply click at the OK button. The Picture is imported, and we are back in the Picture Editor.

Maybe you want to fix some of the Pixel in your imported Picture. Look at the left toolbar, and you`ll find some needful tools for this. The Picture Editor is somekind of a Paint Software. Play a bit around. To get back to the Frame Editor, close the Picture Editor. I made mine, that it will automatically save at closing ( Preferences of MMF ).

If you decide that the Picture is wrong, simply doubleclick left at the Backdrop Object, and you are back in the Picture Editor. Or you rightclick at it, and choose “Edit” in the Popup Menu. Now you can import a new Picture, or make some edits at it.

The most useful Object is the Active Object. It can be controlled and moved. A good way to create a sprite. Back in the Frame Editor, click at the Active Object Button, and, as above, click somewhere in the Frame.

This is the Animation Editor. It looks different from the Picture Editor. But the Active Object provides more posibilities. 32 directions, unlimited number of animations …

The way to handle the stuff is nearly the same. Doubleclick at the green symbol with the ” Frame 1 ” under it, and you are back in the Picture Editor. Here again, you can import single Pictures and edit them.

If you want to import an Animation, you should only mark the green symbol by one leftclick. Then go to File/Import/Animation, and choose your Animation ( most times i use *. avi-files to import, but you can also use an Bitmap Animation sequence by marking the first Picture of it … ). Your Animation will be imported after the green symbol, Frame by Frame. And you can delete Frame 1 ( the one with the green symbol ) then.

You need a new direction for your sprite ? Rightclick at the “stopped”, and choose “insert new direction”. Here you can choose your new direction. If you need a new Animation, rightclick into the free space under the stopped Animation, and choose “insert new animation”. Create your sprite now.

At this point i will import a spaceship with 16 directions. I have rendered my starship as single Bitmaps. You can also use a single Picture, and use it as a base for creating rotated directions. But after doing this you have to fix the Hot Spot of all Pictures ( there is a button for hot spot in the left toolbar). The Hot Spot should be at the same point in all of your Pictures. Otherwise it will cause some conflicts with collisions later on.

Close the Animation Editor when you are done with your sprite. Now you should have something like this :

As you can see, all Objects are listed in the subwindow of the Frame Editor (at the moment two Objects ). I have renamed my Active into ” schif ” ( rightclick at it, and choose rename ). They are also listed in the Project window in your Untitled Frame. Click at the” +” to open it, and then at the “-” to collapse it again.

Now we need a better background for the Frame. White is a bad colour for a starfield. So next step : In the Project Window rightclick at the “+” besides the ” Untitled Frame “, and click at the Properties that appears below ( Don´t mix it up with the Properties above. Those are the Properties for the whole Application … ). Now choose Properties/Frame, and we are in the Frame options. That´s where we want to be.

Here you can change the background colour of the Frame : Color with the Change Button. I`ll choose black here. You also can use a Quick Backdrop Object in Frames ize as a Background for the Frame. Maybe a nice Picture of a starfield.

Now, when it´s done, we need to do some small changes at our Objects : we will make the planet to bounce the ship, when it´s colliding with the planet. Rightclick at the Backdrop Object, and, in the upcoming submenu, choose Properties/obstacle. Change the Obstacle type to Obstacle.

Now the ship : rightclick at the ship, and in the submenu choose Properties/new Movement

Seven ways to assign a movement to our poor Active : ). We will choose the Race Car movement for our starship. Well, the Frame is nearly finished at the moment. You can also play a bit around in the Setupdialog for the racecar. I´ll leave it at standard at the moment.

Here we stop exploring the Frame Editor. We have an Active Object and an Backdrop Object. Half of the game : )

Let´s go to the Event Editor. It´s here where you bring your game to live. Above i have described how to go to the different Editors. Now, click at the Event Editor Button.

Here you can put in your code. It works in an ” IF –> THEN ” way. So, IF the ship collides with the planet, THEN it should bounce at it.

The IF ( Conditions ) things are placed into the grey fields ( where you can read new condition ). And the THEN things ( Actions ) are placed into the grid under the current Object. As you can see, there is more than our starsip here. Later more. And our Backdrop Object is missing here. That´s because you can´t add actions to Backdrop Objects …

Let´s rightclick onto the ” New condition ” field now. In the popup menu rightclick at the ship and choose Collisions/Backdrop :

By clicking at the ” Backdrop ” we will get the following result :

We have defined the IF condition now. IF starship collides with background … . And because of this, we had prepared our planet to be Obstacle. Actives only bounce at Obstacle Backdrops.

Let´s go to the THEN thing ( Action ) : rightclick into the grid under the ship and choose Movement/Bounce

Now we have this line :

Congrats, you have programmed your first line of code in your game : )

Note : you can also implement multiple conditions and actions into one line. Sometimes very important. Maybe you want to limit an event so that it only occurs when a counter has a specific value for example. Or you want to perform multiple actions with one condition. No need to rewrite the whole line again and again.

Let´s test it. Click at the Run Frame Button ( squaresymbol ) or Run application Button ( the Button with the ” F ” ). You can find this Button in the top toolbar :

Run Frame only runs the selected Frame, while Run application runs the whole application, starting at Frame 1.

Because we don´t have a command to end the Frame at the moment, we need to use ALT+F4 to stop the playing of the Frame. Or click at the topright at the X-button to close the Frame.

Lets add one or two more lines of code. Our starship is getting lost when it reaches the Frame border …

What about wrapping the starship around the screen, when it´s too far to this border ? So, IF the starship is too close at the Frame border, THEN wrap the ship around the playfield. And reappear it at the other side.

Therefore we have to test the position of the ship : Like above, rightclick at the New Condition, and select our starship. Then rightclick and choose Position/test position of Schiff :

In this dialogue we have to choose all inside arrows. It`s because our starship should wrap at all 4 Frameboders.

Then click the OK button. Back to the grid below our starship. Rightclick and choose : Movement/wrap around play area :

Now we have a codeline wich defines the ship to wrap around the playfield when it’s outside of it.

Let´s go on with a line for ending the game by pressing ESC …

Click at new event. But now we choose the Keyboard Object.

Click at Upon pressing a key. A dialog appears, wich commands you to press a Button. Press the ESC-button. So the Condition is defined : upon pressing ESC … . For the Action you have to go to the grid below Storyboard controls. Here you can find the command to end the Frame.

The application will end If you are pressing the ESC button while runtime now.

Congrats. Your game does have 3 lines of code now.

To get a feeling of all the commands you should have a look at all the commands of the different Objects. Every Object has it´s own bundle of commands.

Back to the Editors : there is still the Eventlist Editor and the Timeline Editor. Click at the Eventslist button :

Nearly the same as the Event Editor. But the code is now typed in a list. It is shown in the way the code goes. Good for big codes and to control if the Order of Events is right. You can edit your code here, but you cannot place new eventlines here. This must be done in the Event Editor.

Note : you can also enter the Event List Editor by doubleclicking at an Action in the Event Editor. Very useful. Because sometimes the order of Events is essential. Which can be controlled best in the Event List Editor.

Finally there is the Timeline Editor. It is made for timebased Events. Unfortunately i never wrote a single line here till now …

Here stops my little Beginner Tutorial. I only told you the basics. And i hope that it was good enough so that you understand it 🙂

The posibilities of MMF doesn´t stop with creating games. You can create nearly everything 2D – related by using the right Object. Like using the FTP-Object for an FTP application etc … . Have a look at the MMF manual …

You should also read the getting the most of MMF tutorials. Very hintful tips in there …

© 2002 by Reiner Prokein

Comments are closed.